Green Sunday

Trinity or Green Sunday is celebrated on the 50th day after Easter in summer in Ukraine. Starting from Friday people were in search of green branches and herbs to decorate their homes with.  And me too:

Trinity -1

This tradition comes from ancient Judaism, in which the Pentecost, the Feast of Harvest, was celebrated outside amongst flourishing Nature.

Trinity 4-1

The last Saturday before the Trinity Day is called “Green”. In the morning, Ukrainians went to the woods and meadows to collect herbs: thyme, tarragon,  basil, oregano, tumbles and in evening they were decorating houses with the branches of maple, basswood, and ash.

Trinity-1.JPG

On Sunday morning Ukrainians  in festive clothes are going to the church, which is  also decorated with flowers and branches of trees. After the church, boys and girls are heading to the woods, where they were playing games, dancing, singing songs, and joking.

There is one captivating tradition regarding wreaths,  girls usually go to the forest or to the field to make wreaths. Then they come back to the village to tie the wreaths to the birch tree. On Sunday, girls are checking their wreaths and taking them off the tree. If the wreath remains fresh, it means the girl’s family would be happy, but if the wreath withers, it is not a good sign and meant the family will be unhappy.

In ancient times Ukrainians spent this holiday at forests and fields, arranging fireplaces and dancing around, even jumping through it. Nowadays, Ukrainians also prefer going to forests, but mainly for bbq and again dancing, although this time as an after effect of horilka, ha-ha! Happy Trinity!

Oh no, do not click yet, here is the cherry on today’s pie, my trailer devoted to new project, let’s check what I’ve got for you:

And you, do you celebrate Holy Trinity? Share! Subscribe! Like!

Love you all,

Have a great weekend!

Yours Ann

P.S. In case you would like to know more about Ukrainian traditions, I am happy to announce that currently I am working on a book about Ukraine…aren’t you interested?

21 thoughts on “Green Sunday

  1. Of course I am interested in your book and your new Sunday project. But I think I heard high heels clicking on the ground????Your new body may want to get into something more comfy like running shoes?
    Today we celebrated Pentecost Sunday in our Church and many of us wore red. It was also Children’s Day and they put on a play for us. It must be a special day in many places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Clare, thank you so much for your sweet support and interest in my book and project, that were not high heels, just my usual shoes, but sounds occurred to be such ones…Thank you for sharing with us your lovely traditions! Hugs! Stay in tune!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What lovely traditions, Ann. I’ve never heard of Green Sunday, so it was good to learn about that. I loved your little video and your photos are so bright and colourful. I hope your book in coming along well and I would be very interested in finding out a little more about your Ukrainian customs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Millie, i am happy that I could share with you something new. I am working on my book continuously and spend on it every free minute, this is challenging and captivating, I am thrilled and nervous at the same time. I know that I am lack of everything regarding such serious mission, however, I could not stand not doing it. I remember your advice about good editor! Thank you for support, it means a lot to me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

