PhotoThoughts Abroad: ZAKOPANE

Poland is the neighbor country to the west of Kyiv which influence has spread all over. A long border line separates nation’s minds and makes them feel strangers. What does it mean being Ukrainian? Or being Polish? Can you look for the meaning in your vocabulary? Certainly not. However, you will find the meaning for the “citizenship” and that is what exactly important. Belonging to the Planet, World, and Universe. We need to be part of something, always, as loneliness can kill us. That is why I refuse to accept borders between countries, language barriers and mind blockades. I would like to get as close as possibly to life without any of them and understand why we still remain different mentally and so identical physically. There is a strong wish to inhale this beautiful city and print it in my soul!

Polska Symbols

PhotoThought 1: Main Scenes

Welcome to Zakopane

I hope you are not tired of my postcards yet (I see your little cunning grimaces). I am not tired of designing them for you in some crazy hope that one day you might need them. It is also a terrific way to gather several photos at once and create a new common picture. The same as assembling a puzzle. Every piece takes its right place. And you look at the entire picture differently, right? The same when I look at the picture above. This is the collective image of Polish city called Zakopane. A very nice city situated in the southern part of Poland almost at the border between Slovakia and Poland attracts every hiker’s attention. You will find there so many routes to walk and so many breathtaking views to capture. In my postcard I decided to focus on little details such as local parks, monuments, and houses. They do not belong to the main attractions, however, they represent local habits and traditions better. Seeing these scenes brings me closer to Polish culture and people. I am eager to catch its specific mountain atmosphere. Air is different here; nature is different as well as atmosphere. It is a typical mountain city where tourism is the most popular occupation. A number of hotels, villas, cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops goes off scale. It is a real tourist resort crowded most of the time. However, there are some narrow streets that can draw the curtain and let you peep through secret hole. Then you are lucky to observe a completely different picture!

 

PhotoThought 2: Mountains 

White Mountains

Only mountains can be better than the mountains.  This is the love from the first breathe. Air in the mountains is fresh and intoxicating.  

It is always the same with mountains. Once you have lived with them for any length of time, you belong to them. There is no escape.’ (Ruskin Bond) 

And you would not like to escape from them, you prefer staying there forever, just to look at them endlessly. Here there is no time, no distance, no hurry, only they and I. There is almost intimate bond between us. This is a teaser for you, my little Friends, as I made a lot of pictures about mountains and so many breathtaking views.  Be patient!

PhotoThought 3: Countryside 

Zakopane walks

In this postcard I am particularly fond of two goats: white and black. Aren’t they look cute? A couple or two family members. They seem to be curious about me and my camera. I can’t stand not taking a snap of them.  I suppose they suit the entire atmosphere perfectly…

 I saw rivers, small houses, fields and gardens. This city is very different from any mountain city in Ukraine. It is visible that people here live much better. While sitting in the local cafe I saw Polish happy faces and felt a bit envy. Please forgive me for being too honest with you, but I wish I could see my Ukrainians the same happy and free one day. Surely, my country is not that hopeless and if everyone does its best it can be really changed for the better, however, it will be a long way. And I would not like to wait so much. Unfortunately, I am a realist as well and see not too much positive. In fact people, my Ukrainians, do surprise me every day with their indifference and rudeness. Even worse, they make me also being indifferent and rude…and that scares me the most!

PhotoThought 4: Houses

How about sit comfortably in these red chairs and enjoy the…houses? I confess I have never seen such a gorgeous and unusual style. These houses drew my attention at once. I could not go by without shooting them. And those windows with colorful flowers and designed yards. Owners prove they are skillful at design. They are proud of beautifully decorated yards. As you may see almost all houses are wooden, a distinctive sign of the mountain region. It brings us back in time: when people could not afford themselves anything better than a humble wooden house. They made their houses from wood found in forests. There were too many forests at those times. On the contrary, nowadays these mansions are a privilege for people with impressive bank accounts. I would not refuse to settle in one of them and you? Just imagine a romantic scene near your fireplace…hmm…I bet you won’t refuse!

Houses in Zakopane

And now tell me something interesting about the city where you live. I am hungry for your comments, impressions and stories. Only one problem – this time I cannot promise you any reward, since your writer was not so successful recently. In my heart I would like to present you something every time you share with me your wonderful story, but I have no good sponsor or investor…yet.

In case you have no good idea what to present your friends or you need to find something special for somebody, here is the link to my designs available for you: 

http://www.redbubble.com/people/anrostudio/works/22497628-kocham-polske?asc=u&p=classic-tee&ref=artist_shop_grid

http://www.redbubble.com/people/anrostudio/shop?asc=u

Also if you like any of my postcards design, but in your head you imagine your own photos in them, please let me know and I will design for you.  I am also eager to help to design some special card for any special occasion. Give me a hint in the comment or in twitter ann021814 (facebook Ann AnRo) and I’ll contact you as soon as possible! 

Stay in tune! To be continued…

Happy weekend, my little Friends!

Yours Ann

P.S. As I was writing this post world has gone crazy… I have friends from France and I am in deep grief with them. One day France, the other night Turkey…I am lack of appropriate words…just a wish for all of us not to loose being wisdom!

41 thoughts on “PhotoThoughts Abroad: ZAKOPANE

  1. There are too many things I would like to comment about your blog post, but space is limited, and I know how tight you are with time.

    In a nutshell, your brightly-colored postcards are a pleasant sight for sore eyes, Poland has a rich tradition of family values, specially in the countryside. They have suffered too much, and deserve a better life. I’m glad things are changing for the better.

    You made a strong argument about boundaries and blockades artificially made by man. We are all human beings exactly the same physically. We create our own differences with political boundaries, languages, lifestyles, governments and so forth. Yet we continue be become more and more different. If oou take a look at a political map before World War II and compare it to a current map, everything has changed. All of these changes are man made.

    Violence is getting much worse. The killing fields are everywhere. Violence in Irak, Afghanistan, Syria, France, Belgium United States, Ukrania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Nagorno-Karabakh, just to mention a few.

    Plato once wrote, “Only the dead have seen the end of war.” It is a sad statement, but it is a true statement. Man and war go hand in hand.

    Thank you for deep reflexive thoughts, and spirit-lifting photographs of Poland. John Paul II was born in Poland, He was a wonderful man, so he became a saint.

    Keep those articles and pictures coming, we are hungry and thirsty for them. They are a breath of fresh air in this social mayhem we live on a daily basis.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Omar, I hardly can find proper words to thank you for such profound comment on my post. I feel that it went through your mind, which means that I am blessed with such deep souls as yours. Thank you. I agree with Plato, it is a sad fact, but realistic. This world went crazy and i don’t know how it can be stopped! But I do hope that kindness can do wonders, just we are lack of it, even I am. I wish I could be.
      Take care and my best wishes! Hugs!

      Like

  2. Yes, the barriers we put up between ourselves and neighbouring countries is a dismal thought. I suppose it has all stemmed from the idea of keeping our own communities safe from raiders or foreign armies etc. in the past. We seem to mistrust anyone from a different country. Your photos of the magnificent Polish countryside are lovely, Ann, as are the photos of the city of Zakopane. Those houses look absolutely fabulous. I love the styles of them, and I love the way you’ve compiled your lovely postcards. Your posts always make me want to fly off to these beautiful places. Like you. I’d love to visit somewhere where the people are content and happy with their lives. There is far too much misery and discontentment in the world today, and I won’t start about what I feel about the violence and terrorist attacks. So sad.
    A really beautiful post, 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Millie, you feel so deep and your thoughts are so wisdom, thank you, dear! Especially I like your compliments on my photos, although I feel a bi overestimated, hope I deserve them. I just would like to share with you a part of the world I am lucky to observe. I am happy that I can bring some afterthoughts and make you wish to travel. Hugging you strongly!

      Like

  3. Lovely post that shows zakopane in a different way. You’re so kind Ann to offer designing of cards for us. It’s great. Thanks.
    And I was wondering where is post from Ann.. it’s quite some time since you posted! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just like you I love to look for the real spirit of the town and in Zakopane it is not where the most crowded streets and places are (or maybe it’s just not for me?..). I also love that town off season: http://subiektywnyprzewodnikpogorach.blox.pl/2012/01/Zakopane-Zakopane-piekne.html
    and more often I walk there where most tourists (who stay only for a couple of days) don’t have a chance to go:
    http://subiektywnyprzewodnikpogorach.blox.pl/2013/05/Inaczej-niz-zwykle-na-Podtatrzu.html
    http://subiektywnyprzewodnikpogorach.blox.pl/2014/06/Inne-Podtatrze.html
    P.S.
    We need to have faith in Ukraine and Ukrainians. I do and pray for peace and wisdom. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, my Friend, your amazing pictures caught my heart! I envy of your possibilities to see that lovely places without tourists, I wish I could go there as well. I confess your pictures inspire me. Can I ask you whether it is your profession or just hobby?
      Surely, we should have faith, perhaps not too many people know but Ukrainians are real hard-working and hospitable people. I hope I can be their good representative!
      Thank you! So kind of you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe one day you will have a chance to discover these landscapes yourself! It’s all really close to Zakopane. I can always let you know how to get there 🙂 Thank you for so kind words about our (me & my husband’s) pictures. It’s only our hobby.
        Feel free to contact me via e-mail: bialavoda(at)gazeta.pl
        Lots of love!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You will spoil me with such nice compliments, Mel, thank you, sweetie! Although I feel pretty modest about my little creations! But it’s nice to know somebody likes them! Hugs and best best wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. A crazy, crazy world, Ann! With shootings and murder almost daily! I want to rush back to my Algarve and bury my head in the sand, but instead I’ll smile at the memory of these wooden houses and mountains. There is so much beauty in the world. Why can’t we just love one another?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Jo, I ask it myself as well, why we cannot! Maybe because then it can be too easy to live and we don’t deserve for easy life! Thank you for your comment, so kind of you! Hugs and hopes for the better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

