What’s Your Name? (Competition)

My name is Ann and yours? This phrase plays an important role in every day’s life. It has a profound effect on everyone. Especially if you have an unusual name, which might be not clear from the first pronounce. It may even lead to some confusion (in case you still don’t remember his/her name) or a smile at someone’s face. Nevertheless, it is a powerful way of successful communication.

Collage

Every name is unique as its owner. In my country it is not so popular to celebrate name days, however, in Europe and other part of the world it is a wide known reason to have a party with some presents. People cannot be satisfied with only one day per year celebration (birthday), so they came to the conclusion that they need an extra one. Surely, I know that the custom originated with the Catholic and Orthodox calendar of saints, where believers, named after a particular saint, would celebrate that saint’s name day.

Cup Collage

There are really name ways to celebrate your nameday and every country competes for the most extravagant. Unfortunately, I heard only about quite typical traditions including exchange of greetings and presents for this day. I believe it could be nice to witness a very bizzare tradition of celebration with some kind of smashing cakes like Americans do for their birthdays, or “bumps” given to kids at their birthdays in UK, or in Jamaica, a person can expect to have his or her special day celebrated by having copious amounts of flour thrown at them from friends, family and occasionally random onlookers alike, or in Hungary (as well Ukraine), where following the opening of the presents all tug on the earlobes of the lucky birthday boy or girls and etc. It can be pretty nice to establish some particular traditions for namedays as well. What do you think, my little Fellows? Any weird ideas? How do you celebrate your nameday or birthday (if celebrate)? And what does your name mean?

Roses.jpg

I’d love to hear your stories…please, please! And the most interesting answers will get a reward, one of the postcards presented in this post upon your choice for free! How about it? Aren’t you interested? The winner will be announced next Friday, June 8, in the beginning of my next scheduled post. Your reward will be delivered to you via post on the address provided to me personally (secrecy guaranteed)!

Gentel White

http://www.redbubble.com/people/anrostudio/shop

Happy weekend!

Love you all,

Yours Ann

50 thoughts on “What’s Your Name? (Competition)

    1. Thank you so much, Jo! I believe your name is truly beautiful, I think almost angelic. You have a kind personality and people fall quickly for you. At least, I am inspired with your walks and your visions of life! You should definitely check when your nameday and celebrate it in some particular way! When it happens, don’t forget to let me know! I will look forward! Happy Sunday!

      Like

  1. Hi Ann. My name is Carolyn, although close friends may call me that or Skip, which is a nickname given to me by my husband when we first met in college. I have no idea when my name day is, but I know it took several months for my parents to decide on a name for me, the youngest of three girls. After waiting 11 years following the first two girls, they were expecting a boy. When the long awaited boy turned out to be a girl, they didn’t know what to name me. In those days, 70-plus years ago, hospitals were much more lenient about babies being named immediately and birth certificates being filled out and validated by the attending physician, so my parents took me home without a name. Nobody seemed to mind, and, according to my older sisters, it was a couple of months before they finally settled on Carolyn, which is a version of Charles, my father’s name. I was destined to become a “tomboy” and a baseball fan as a result of my father’s interest in baseball. Ironically enough, I didn’t have an athletic gene in my body, but we still enjoyed many trips to Philadelphia for baseball games and to Florida to see “our team” in spring training.

    As an aside, I love your very creative flower pictures above. Thanks for sharing them.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Dear Carolyn, I read your story with great pleasure and interest, it is so fascinating. I believe everybody who knows you is glad you are a girl. Your parents are proud of you and your achievements. I liked your story very much, I believe you are my first nominee for the postcard. Thank you for your very kind words concerning my creative cards! Many hugs, best wishes and thank you a lot for sharing, it’s inspiring!

      Like

  2. We don’t have the tradition of celebrating a person’s name. Only one celebration per year, and that of course, is your Birthday. Big parties are made to celebrate the event.

    My father was an ardent reader. He selected my name, Omar, which is a Persian name after Omar Khayyam, the famous mathematician, astronomer, philosopher, and poet, who is widely considered to be one of the most influencial scientists of the middle ages.

    I only got the name, the other skills were not in my genes. Sorry that he was not a photographer. 🙂 As usual I enjoyed your story about names and your photographs of polychrome flowers. Thanks for taking the time of sharing them with us.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. My pleasure, Omar! You know that you are one of my best friends and supporters, I am always inspired by your ability to follow your dreams! You have a talent for picture, no doubt of that! Your story about name is lovely, Omar is a powerful name! Thank you, let’s see who will win my card! Best wishes and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Fabio, I am so happy to see you, it’s been some time I haven’t heard from you and here you are with a name website and first name! Antonio sounds even better, I like both though. I appreciate your opinion and your very encouraging words, you always by my side, thank you so much for that! Hope I deserve all the compliments! Take care and my best best wishes! Hugs!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, dear Irene, by the way, you have a very beautiful name! I love it and I have a friend whose name is Iren similar to yours. I believe you have a tender nature and you feel life beauty by making wonderful jewelry! Hugging you strongly!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Adrian, what an exciting made, sounds very pleasant to my ears! Thank you for commenting, Adrian, I believe you like everything beautiful and you have a good eye for photoclicks! Huge good luck, Adrian!

      Like

  3. Love your rose images Ann, wonderful idea. No story for Richard but my middle name Haze was after my grandparents Hazel and Hazle. They were married for over 60 years and I always thought it unique that they had the same first name with the slight spelling variation. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Wow, my friend, your story about grandparents’ names are truly great, I love it, it’s unique I guess. I bet you have a good chance for winning my postcard, isn’t it exciting? However, I can’t imagine there is not story for Richard, it is a warrior’s name, somehow strong and admiring! Don’t be so modest! Thank you so much and many hugs!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Monica, dear Monica, your name sounds really wonderful, it attracts people at once and make them want to meet you. You are a very wisdom girl, I can even learn a lot from you. I am so excited about knowing your second name which is almost the same as mine, wow, it is a great surprise. I can tell you that in Ukrainian my name sounds like Anna, I just changed it for foreign manner a bit. So, see only one letter different, but it means a lot, we have something in common! Isn’t it great?
      Thank you so much, dear! Hugs and kisses back!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi Ann! Very great post with beautiful photos! Well-done! And right now a competition! 🙂
    My name is Robert! From the Germanic name Hrodebert meaning “bright fame”, derived from the Germanic elements hrod “fame” and beraht “bright”. In Hungary, we celebrate namedays. Somebody has once a year, somebody several times. Of course, everybody celebrates at once per year, but whose name you can find in calendar several times, they choose which one they celebrate. Robert is unique, only 7th of June you can celebrate. On your nameday people greets you, who is closer to you, they give you some presents as well. Usually we celebrate our birthday in family and/or friends circle, because this day not everybody knows. 🙂 But on your nameday anybody can greet you, because it is visible from calendar. So let’s celebrate! Cheers! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. A wonderful story, dear Robert! Your name is really unique and means so much. I believe you have to be famous or you are already due to your name! I see you as a very successful and powerful man! Thank you so much! That’s wonderful! Many hugs and kisses!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. In Sweden it’s common to celebrate your name day, almost as important as birthdays. Mine (Maria,) is February 28. There is a little dilemma with this, especially during the school years, the year only has 365 days = not all kids get their name celebrated. Interesting post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, yes, it’s so pity that not everybody can celebrate their namedays due to year days! Thank you for your story, it’s lovely! Hugs and best wishes for this week. As I know today is the national holiday in USA, hope you will have some relax!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Well, my full name is Claremary. The Irish spelling of Clare comes from County Clare, Ireland where my relatives originated. (In France it is spelled Claire and means “light” as in “Claire de Lune” or light of the moon.) Mary is a very common name, probably in honor of the Blessed Virgin. I guess my name could mean Mary from County Clare or “Light of Mary” then. I’ve never celebrated my name day, but you’re right, Catholics do have days in honor of their saints and I will have to look up St. Clare or Ste.Claire.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You name is really nice, dear Clare, it really reflects some light and tender, perhaps even mystery! I like your story, I believe you are lucky to have such a wonderful name! Delightful! Thank you for sharing. Now I have one more nominee for the reward! what a challenge! Take care and enjoy the holiday! Best wishes and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ann, I forgot to mention that although we never smashed cakes on our birthdays , my mother always put butter on our noses when we woke in the morning. I have no idea what that was all about????? But it was very greasy and annoying! Clare

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Unfortunately, we don’t celebrate namedays here in Denmark, which is a real shame. But even if we did, I wouldn’t have one, as my name is not Danish hehe. My parents named me Melissa after the two girls (Laura and Mary) from the Little House on the Prairie 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, that’s still very interesting to know that your parents are so creative! A beautiful daughter with a beautiful name. Thank you, Mel, I appreciate your story very much! Hope you are doing well! Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I never knew about ‘Name Day’ but it sounds like such a fun thing to do!! Birthdays for me were always fun as a kid with all my friends and cousins…my parents used to throw lovely birthday parties..oh how I miss those days 🙂 My name is Shamira which has several meanings. The word ‘Shami’ means a particular type of plant – its leaves are offered to the Hindu Lord Ganesh (in the Indian culture) Shamira also means mild breeze. It also has a Hebrew meaning which means guardian/ protector (But my parents were not aware of this meaning when they named me lol)

    Loved your post my dear Ann…I learn something new from them everytime 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, Shamira, dear Friend, you have really a very interesting name, very unusual and beautiful as well. It suits you. Thank you for sharing with us its meaning, I am very impressed. I bet you miss your birthday parties, hope your husband also surprises you with something special! Your compliments are so sweet, thank you! Hugs and best wishes! Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ann, I have not heard of celebrating a name day, but I like it! My name, Carole, is the French form of the English Carol, a diminutive of Charles meaning “strong.” Growing up, I didn’t know anyone else who spelled Carol with an “e” at the end, but now I’m used to it.

    I’m not familiar with the custom of smashing birthday cakes, although little kids sometimes do that. We do have a custom where brides and grooms smash wedding cake on each other’s faces. Some brides are not so happy about that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Carole, what a lovely story about your name, you are so kind to share it with me! I bet competition is in full swing, and I got so many lovely answers that choice will be difficult to whom present my postcard. I hope namedays will be popular in US as well, I believe it can be pretty interesting! I enjoyed your story very much! Have a wonderful day, take care and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Estelea, I really enjoyed this post and even more I enjoyed sending the reward to the winner. I’d love to have it every time, only restriction is that delivery expense! However, there is always hope for the best! Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I haven’t been on my blog for a while, Ann, so I missed reading this post. Your competition sounds like a great idea. I’ve never celebrated a ‘Name Day’, although it sounds like a lovely idea. You mentioned that in the UK we celebrate Name Days by giving the person the ‘bumps’ but I’ve a feeling that the custom has died out in most places. Wonderful photos, as always.
    I’ll move on a little now, and see who you selected as your winner.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Millie! I know sometimes I am also lack of time to check all the bloggers I like, so please feel free about that. I am happy to see you anytime you are able to visit me! Best wishes!

      Like

  11. My first name is Sharon and my middle name is Rose; however, I was not named after a shrub (though we have many of them in our yard). My mother had me when she was older and made a novena to a woman who had suffered stigmata, named Rose. She promised to have Rose in my name if the baby was born fine. Some people might argue whether she got her wish, but she seemed satisfied with me. ;>) Interesting thing, at the time Catholics were supposed to have the name of a canonized saint, but my gal never got canonized (to my knowledge). So maybe I was never an official Catholic? Well, Pope Francis seems like a a nice guy. He’d probably cut me some slack.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a fascinating story, Sharon, nice to meet you! In fact, if you write sooner you would probably win my competition, unfortunately, it’s over and the winner has got her reward! Anyway, your story is really very nice! Every name has got its background, which is unique! I love it! My sweet wishes and hugs to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

