Uptown Amenities

I roamed the countryside searching for answers to things I did not understand.  ~Leonardo da Vinci

Summer Scene

In the end of the every working week Ann seizes the opportunity of the escape from a big city. To change the atmosphere, stop running around like a squirrel in a cage, relax and breathe. I guess it is not a bad idea. But be assured I won’t go anywhere without my Nikki. We are always in the same boat. Where I go, he goes. He has a mission, he provides me with beautiful scenes captured to share with you…

Time To Enjoy

When I go out into the countryside and see the sun and the green and everything flowering, I say to myself Yes indeed, all that belongs to me!  ~Henri Rousseau

Countryside life is in trend nowadays. People awakened to the realization that having your own private house is much comfortable and prestigious as well. As who would like to live “under constant pressure of neighbors thin walls”. No one, right! Therefore people are in search of their sanctuary to cling to. Surely not all of them, or vice versa who will stay in that multistory boxes and will spend most of their money on attractions in local parks? Yep, local businesses won’t survive such a loss. Although sometimes (more often than you can imagine) I feel quite irritated while walking home though the corridor of park attractions starting from “have a ride” locomotive driving around not too big park to food tents selling unhealthy stuff. You practically have to maneuver not to touch anything or catch anything. I do not mention electrical cars for children, since none of the drivers have a driving license yet, you hardly can avoid a collision. Surely I admire young driving ladies in pink dresses who look charmingly behind the wheel, but oh my, ladies, please follow the rules of traffic. However, I am not sure that older ladies (still in the same pink, but on high heels) driving range rovers have already learn the rules. Please do not take anything personal, dames, but sometimes I wonder whether SHE learnt anything in a driving school or she just painted her nails instead. Driving is not a joke, your mistake can be fatal. By the way, men, don’t think that I forgot about you, you also drive not better! No offense! I am afraid I was brought in the wrong direction. We are not in the city now, but outside, in the uptown…so turn on the volume, relax your brain muscles and enjoy colors, sounds, smells, tastes…

Uptown Scenes

http://www.redbubble.com/people/anrostudio/works/22281080-the-tone-of-nature?p=greeting-card&card_size=postcard

Nor rural sights alone, but rural sounds,
Exhilarate the spirit, and restore
The tone of languid nature.
~William Cowper

Summer in 3D

All of a sudden you occurred to be in this field of blooming colors. So many things delight your eyes. The translucent beauty of a green leaf, the lazy drone of a bee as it searched for a tempting little wildflower, the musical calls of the birds in the trees, the blue coolness of the lake, funny mooing of the cows, secret whispers of the wind and utterly overwhelming points where sky meets land. Absolutely blinding!

Flowertime

However, you might notice the other picture as well. Something left behind all the beauty. I mean countryside life is not only all that “wows” and “bubbles”, but also hard work. Kyiv uptown lives its own life different from the big city. Every village outside Kyiv has its own style and soul. Most of them look like compact closed societies with rules and no exit for strangers. You have to be attentive to them and try to follow the wave. Villagers are not fond of citiers, they consider us to belong to another class. I know it sounds odd, but it is. I have relatives who live in the village and I feel the barrier. Maybe for you it really sounds strange, but I am not kidding. Perhaps I should clarify that Ukrainian villages have their own history opposite to Western European.  Mildly saying “living in a village was not prestigious”. Many years ago a typical Ukrainian village had one street, shop, one small hospital, a market and a club, that’s all. Thus, when a villager happened to be in a big city with metro and a chain of various shops (not to mention number of streets), theaters and etc., he/she was like a tourist in a completely unknown country. Would you believe it? It is a fact. The only entertainment for villagers was gossiping while sitting at the benches next to their houses. Everybody knows everyone and it is scareful. There is a wish to be not noticed, don’t count on that in a village. There is everywhere a lady who watches you. Surely, it can be beneficial as well. People are more friendly and helpful. Air is cleaner and birds singing louder. Uptown is a little fortress where almost every new life starts, then it grows bigger, need more place and travels beyond. Nothing lasts for a long time, neither relax, nor work. There will be always a point, a dot or …

3D Countryside

I suppose the pleasure of country life lies really in the eternally renewed evidences of the determination to live.  ~Vita Sackville-West, Country Notes

Happy Summer Sunday!

P.S. As always all the cards presented here can be found at my webshop: http://www.redbubble.com/people/anrostudio/shop

36 thoughts on “Uptown Amenities

  1. As expected I enjoyed your pictures and narrative about driving, the roar of big cities and the relaxed atmosphere of small towns.

    I live in a big city full of traffic, tall buildings, sounds of every kind, and oceans of people. Traffic jams are on a 24/7 basis all week except Sundays. There are long lines to get anything accomplished. Everything takes forever to get it done. The slogan of the city is, “Mañana” which means “Tomorrow” in English.

    People are never on time. A meeting scheduled for 4:00 p.m. will be held at 5:00 or later, or not at all and everybody is happy. We call it “Hora Panameña” (Panamanian Hour). Of course there is no such thing. Yet everybody is happy.

    Another thing typical of Panama is “Te llamo luego” (I’ll call you back soon). Of course they will never call you back and never intended to do so. Yet everybody is happy; except foreign visitors and grumbled people like me. But my dear friend, that is “Life in the Tropics”.

    Now you know why I enjoyed your blog post so much. Keep them coming, Ana. I’ll be waiting in the wings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Omar, your comments are as great and entertaining as ever, I adore them and you, let me give you a huge hug and a friendly kiss! Wow, your story about your city is impressive and I recognized many common scenes, it happens here as well, that’s why it’s so important to get out of your noisy home and go somewhere to be lost in nature! I am so grateful for your kind words! Keep on clicking, looking forward to seeing your little masterpieces! Happy Sunday!

      Like

    1. Dear Doug, is there any better compliment than yours? Nope, you are the kindest soul, you made my day with your truly sweet words, I’m hugging you strongly for that, there no enough words to thank you. I really love my place, I can talk about it endlessly…
      Hope your Sunday is bright and happy!😊
      Take care! Thank you so much !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful pictures! Your thoughts are right, I am also tired of crowded city and people. This is a big stress! Reading your post takes me out from the stressful life and brings me some great relaxation! 🙂 Thank you, Ann! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful pics and words! Every big crowded cities are having the same pics! I too like to go away from the hustle bustle of the city to the nature. You are lucky you can do so to enrich your experiences! Good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Antonio, you had a breathtaking blog, but I am not good at Italian, can I follow you in some way? I haven’t found follow button, maybe you have a facebook, please let me know! It’s so nice to meet you!

      Like

      1. Tiscali-blog hasn’t “follow button”….if you desire to read me, you only can to link my blog.
        It’s possible to use “google-traductor” to translate in English language…..( I use it for strangers bloggers )
        I wait you…
        bye

        Liked by 1 person

      2. What a pity, Antonio! But thank you for the info! I would like to tell you that I am a translator by profession, so I hardly trust google translator, unfortunately, machine can change the meaning completely! But it’s nice to meet you!

        Like

  4. Lovely photos of your beautiful countryside, Ann. I’ve never lived in a city and have lived in country villages most of my married life (46 years). I love the quiet peacefulness and the green of the trees and open fields, and the colourful wild flowers. I couldn’t bear the traffic and noise of the city for long, although sometimes we do have to visit the city for clothes shopping and such like. You post is a real delight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, Millie! You are so kind. I can imagine why you love your country village, they are particularly beautiful in UK. I have never seen them in reality, but English films give me sometimes such opportunity and I enjoy it! I wish I could travel there one day and just walk between your lovely British houses! Happy weekend, dear Friend!

      Like

      1. There are some pretty villages in England, some not so pretty. Often nowadays, busy roads passing through the middle of them completely spoils them. Let’s hope you manage to travel here one day – just as I’d love to see your beautiful homeland.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

