Ukraine, I Am So Proud Of You (Eurovision 2016)

Dear Friends, you all heard a million times how I love my country and I am very proud of being Ukrainian and not only today! Our Ukrainian singer Jamala won this year Eurovision contest and I would like to share it with you. Her song “1944” was dedicated to her great grandmother who was forced (by Russia) to leave her place of living 75 years ago.ย In 1944 Crimean Tatars were deported from the Crimean Peninsula as a result of state-organized and forcible action, ordered by then Soviet leader Joseph Stalin. And in 2014 Russian Federation annexed Crimea with a weapon in her hands and stated that Crimea is their territory. You may call that this song is political and, to some extend, it is true. However, this song is a real tragedy which is possible even nowadays and World should know about that. This song is a message for all of us not to forget that somewhere there is war and people die until we sleep peaceful in our beds…there is nothing more important than PEACE in our world wherever we are!

Please listen to this song, I have tears in my eyes when I am listening:

She is perfect as her nation to whom she belongs!

Love you all!

Yours Ann

47 thoughts on “Ukraine, I Am So Proud Of You (Eurovision 2016)

    1. That’s so kind of you! I confess your comment was a good encouragement for me to write this short post, I decided that I should not be modest and once again talk about this TERRIFIC WIN! My country and everything devoted to it is very painful topic, because as you may hear not everything is well here, so sometimes when such things happen I feel very touched like right now! And your country is truly kind to us! I am visiting it soon and hope to get closer to Poland, and prepare something special for you! Thank you, my Friend! Very touched and welcome to Ukraine anytime, promise to be your guide!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I saw the vide0 and was impressed with the light effects. Since I was not familiar with the context of the song, I didn’t appreciate it as much as I should.

    In a world surrounded by evil, destruction, hatred, and war, we must consider ourselves fortunate if to live in an area where there are none of these evils. Peace must prevail. When? I wish I knew, but it must be a goal that we should strive for.

    Since knowing you, I follow Ukraine’s events, specially the war with Russia on the Eastern Front. May your country be blessed with peace, your people have earned it.

    Congratulation on Jamala’s “1944” song. A great musical event for Ukraine. No doubt about that. I know how you must feel as a Ukranian citizen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel your support, dear Omar! Thank you a lot and hugs! Your words are so true! It can be good to have peace everywhere and always! That’s a good mission to fight for! I believe Ukraine won and will continue winning! My heart is singing! Take care, my sweet Friend!

      Like

  2. Ann, you’re right. Jamaica’s performance was perfect and beautifully staged. I appreciated it so much more because you took the time to give me information on the history behind the lyrics. I always learn so much when I visit you. Hugs, Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So much emotion when she was singing the song. Beautiful voice. Unfortunately, so many take their freedom for granted and easily forget those who died fighting for that freedom we now enjoy. It makes me sad thinking about it. Thanks for sharing, Ann. I wish you well my friend. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so sweet, my dear Anna, yes, song was really very emotional, on some nerve even, it meant a lot for the singer and all of us! I feel your support, you have a golden heart. Tight hugs and kisses! Have a very nice day!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Mel, you are so supportive as always. Hope my country will get a new chance to show something interesting about my country๐Ÿ˜Š ! Hope you are well! Are you still traveling? Take care!๐Ÿ˜Š Big hugs!

      Like

  4. I normally don’t listen to the Eurovision contest, but I listened to the song after what you wrote about it, and I had shivers all over me, it is both sad but strong, it is a cry out against violence and senseless killing, that would nearly make you cry in this violent world of today. Thank you for drawing our attention to this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is indeed, I feel the same every time I listen to it, it’s a cry, very deep and passionate. I honestly feel the same every time I think of my poor country…thank you for your kind words. It means a lot to me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

