How I Met a Puppy

Puppy Boni

“I’m convinced that petting a puppy is good luck.”
                                             Meg Donohue, Dog Crazy: A Novel of Love Lost and Found

I think I agree with you, Meg, at least I had such a feeling when I met Boni. The cutest Akita puppy ever. I spent with her a day full of lovely mischievous adventures. A two months puppy who is worse than a baby and even more demanding. She needs your 100% attention and does not get used to any restrictions. She disobeys all rules and puts her upper feet on your legs in an attempt to attract your attention while you are sitting at the table (as in the picture above). Moreover, she barks and shows her voice in case you still go on chewing without recognizing her. Boni looks innocently at you while climbing one of your leg or tasting one of your slippers, or one of your drawer’s handles. She is a sweet little imp energetic 24 hours without charging!

And now you are looking at her dad, serious Mr Yuko Sun! Don’t you find that girls are always similar to their dads? They are, indeed!

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
                                                                                                                           Josh Billings

Gucci

Making Yuko Sun’s picture was a real challenge. He doesn’t like posing at all. I was chasing after him. I guess I was pretty lucky when he sat in the bushes and even turned his head to look at me. Perhaps Yuko became rather curious at the lady with a camera pointing at him for so long. Or maybe he even felt pity and decided to give me a chance. His glance is very intense and suspicious a bit. As if asking me: “Lady, what do you want from me?.

“The average dog is a nicer person than the average person.”
                                                                                                                  Andy Rooney

Sleepy Boni.jpg

Boni is a teddy bear especially when she sleeps, which happens very rear. This girl is a source of boundless energy. Take my word, until she is somewhere in a room and her eyes are open, you won’t be able to have your usual lunchtime nap. Forget it. This young lady will bring you something to play or will try to jump to you and start poking her tiny wet nose everywhere. Be aware that puppies after playing or being too active like drinking water and as well-mannered ladies will try to wipe their wet mouth with …not a napkin as everybody usually do, but your shirt’s sleeve. Adorable little lady!

“Petting, scratching, and cuddling a dog could be as soothing to the mind and heart as deep meditation and almost as good for the soul as prayer.”
                                                                                        Dean Koontz, False Memory

Let's Play

Also Boni as her dad likes looking at the mirror. They are those dandies. They are very proud of being certified Akita. Yuko Sun is the champion of many dog’s competitions. He often goes abroad to show people how handsome and smart he is. Although, owners of Akita cannot boast about their being obedient. I heard that Akitas have their own character and may not follow your commands. They are incredibly intelligent and loyal dogs though, and are loving, devoted and gentle towards their master and family. The Akita is also known to be a good guard dog as it is very suspicious of any person or animal that it doesn’t know.Akitas consider making eye contact as a form of challenge for dominance.That’s I felt and you?

 The Akita  first bred in Japan in the 1600s. The Akita originates from the Akita Prefecture in the north-east of Japan, hence it’s name. During ancient times, mothers in Japan relied heavily on their pet Akitas to take care of their very young children. While mothers worked the fields, their pets played nanny to the children at home.

“Dogs have given us their absolute all. We are the center of their universe. We are the focus of their love and faith and trust. They serve us in return for scraps. It is without a doubt the best deal man has ever made. ”
Roger A. Caras

Gucci In the Bushes

Yuko Sun’s and Boni’s masters seem to be the happiest people, at least, that’s what I saw while looking at them. A big family where dogs play even more important role.  I was lucky to meet the Akita puppy and her dad! Dogs are our best friends!

I was smiling while writing this post, hope you can join me and smile in reply!

Happy smiling day!

Yours Ann

42 thoughts on “How I Met a Puppy

  1. I’ll have to admit that I don’t like pets that much, but to be candid with you, I loved your pictures and the narrative of your post. I’m getting used to your wit, humor and cleanliness of your work.

    Thank you for putting a smile on my face today. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I thank you for bringing a happy smile at my face with your adorable words! I am so absolutely happy to know you liked my post! And even more to know it made you smile! Dear Omar, big hugs to you!

      Like

    1. Thank you a billion, dear Shamira! Anytime I think of these cuties I also smile, dogs make us happy, they bring positive energy and help us forget negative! They are our best friends, most loyal ones! Have a wonderful smiling day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne! I love your description of Boni! And how he insists on getting your attention, even if you are chewing! So true! My dog, Queenie did that when she was a pup. Then, when she grew up, we chewed together! Happy days Anne, enjoy the summer air!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

