Tulip Fever & Postcards Stories

Slow Down and Enjoy Your Life

Slow down and enjoy your life. It’s not only the security you miss by going too fast, but also where you are going and why.

Photohunting helps me to slow down and enjoy the moment I am chasing for. An every day almost routine life is too hectic and busy, you are lucky one to grab a minute and think about anything important or even silly, why not? Being able to do it I found myself staring at beautiful images of postcards. It seems to me that postcards have not their best time, since in the era of Internet who needs them. Why should we go to bookstore to pick up a postcard when we can easily do it with one mouse click? Moreover, why should we spend money on it? Postcards or greeting cards for every occasion are available for free in web. It is a pity, indeed. Since there is no link between you and a postcard anymore, you do not do it alone, there is an intermediary between you and your choice. And I even do not mention that fact that we forgot how to hold a pen in our hands, everything is typed. However, how about the originality of each handwriting? Typed letters look the same.  Yeah, there is much to ponder!

Painted Tulips

In 1861, John Charlton of Philadelphia created the first private postal card, called “Lipman’s Postal Card, Patent Applied For.” Government postcards came into the market in 1873. Postcards were novelties because of the pictures and designs that they used. In 1906, Eastman Kodak made a camera called the “Folding Pocket Camera” to create postcards out of photographs. Postcards were not used during World War I, as Germany was one of the main producers of postcards, and there were potential problems such as influenza epidemics spreading across country borders. However, advancing print technology brought about a new age of postcards after World War II. Postcards began to be printed in color, depicting pictures, historical buildings, national parks and exotic sceneries.

Tulips As Art .jpg

Will you believe that there was even “postcarditis” infection caught by many people in the world? Every town, city, and state had their own promotional card; every family counting itself among the middle or upper classes displayed on the parlor table an album bulging with different images.  They believed that their city is the most beautiful!

Tulip and Sunshine.jpg

Every postcard is unique, especially made on your own. Many of you, my Friends, are very talented and professional photographers who make excellent shots, thus your wonderful photos can be easily put into a postcard frame and delivered around the world. It is a good marketing tool. A postcard is better than something in an envelope.  People are fast. We see and read very quickly – actually much more quickly than we even realize. With a postcard, even if prospects throw it away, they already saw your message regardless of whether they think they did or not. They saw it enough to either throw it away or keep it or respond to it.

Trio of Tulips

How many times a usual postcard or a greeting card was used to show your gratitude. Countless. It was long ago before Internet existed. Certainly it took a long way to send a postcard to anyone, but imagine happy faces when the postmen deliver an envelope or a package with something inside…

Strips Tulip

How can you be content to be in the world like tulips in a garden, to make your every day bright and be good for nothing…

Life is Beautiful

Hugs to all of you!

Yours Ann

72 thoughts on “Tulip Fever & Postcards Stories

  1. Hi Ann:

    Thank you for teaching us about postcards and its history. While growing up, I had little contact with postcards. But I have seen them around saved by elder people. Some of them show the wear of time.

    The Internet killed those documents as you correctly pointed out. The same has happened with written letters. E-mails, cellphones and WhatsUpp are now in the spotlight.

    Indeed we are experiencing the Digital Revolution. More changes are in the works.

    Cheers,

    Omar.-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And we should start changing it, don’t you think so? I agree with you, world has changed a lot since then, but something tells me that a cute greeting card from the other part of the world can be a pleasant gift that can make people happy and smile! For example, I’d love to make such present for you!
      Hugging you for sunny words!

      Like

    1. Yes, it is indeed. But a lot depends on us, we should try to bring it back, what do you think? For example, I’d love to exchange some postcards or present somebody’s my own ones. I think it is so nice when you create something on your own and then present it. There should be a kind of campaign..
      I appreciate your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally agree, it is on us. I regularly write letters with a friend back in Australia. It is refreshing to sometimes sit down with a pen and just write freestyle…. I think you should start the campaign Ann!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree! I loved receiving postcards as a child. Now I send them to my family when I travel and I also collect one from each country. I miss the times when you would find a postcard in your letterbox from a faraway place, that was magical!
    Beautiful pictures Ann, thoses could easily be used as postcards! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Mel, it was really magical, I also miss that times, let’s hope we can change that! There should be a kind of campaign “Create Your Postcard” and send to your friend, it can be cool, don’t you think?
      I am so happy you liked them, my modest designer’s skills are rewarded with your kind words! Thank you! I am reading your post about Asia now, looks awesome!
      Hugs and kisses!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s interesting to have come across your post on postcards. we all have grown over postcards. For many people it was customary to send back home a postcard while traveling. Unfortunately, in the world of instant messaging like whatsapp its turned redundant.

    I also posted a story on travel postcards. I’m not sure if you have read it. Posting the link here in case you haven’t.

    https://jaipurthrumylens.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/travel-photo-jaipur-travel-postcards-exhibition-pt-ii/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Ann for your lovely discourse on postcards. Your fans are very lucky to have your words and your beautiful photos! Very lucky, indeed!

    You are right that modern communication does much to replace the simple beauty of the postcard, but I know that the rare times I’ve received one, I’ve kept it as a treasure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you, dear Jim, for very sweet words! It means a lot! I also treasure such little postcards. In case you’d love to receive one from me one day, let me know. It can be good to prepare such a surprise for you! I mean as a present, free of charge!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your postcards are really beautiful Ann 😀
    I do also miss to receive handwritten letters and postcards, Sometimes my daughter send me a handwritten letter, which I treasure very much.
    Yes, it is up to us to start sending postcards again and it is possible to pack them in an envelope to stay more private.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You see, Ann, the progress isn’t good all the time. We lose beautiful things because of it. Like a postcard for example. As you said. I hope your alarm signal will be heard. By the way, your tulip postcards are gorgeous. 🙂 Hugs ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I couldn’t agree more strongly with your comments. I do worry that handwritten communication may almost disappear. As a lover of old photographs, I find postcards are an important and fascinating historical record of many locations and I often look at the greetings and wonder about the lives of the people who wrote them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is true! That’s why I mentioned it and would like to continue my work on it and give postcards a new life! I am not sure I can do much, but at least, something! Join me! Thank you!

      Like

      1. mknaturedesign

        Anroworld…you liked my blogpost about Sergey the keeper of Lake Imlor in the Siberian Taiga. I will be posting a blog with an update today. It has a link for a petition. It is only with international attention that we can save Sergey from prison and even death maybe. He is the last think standing between the lake and that oil company and the oil company is lying about what he’s done. Please sign the petition. I will post the blog at around 12:00 noon. Miriam with MK Nature Design.

        Like

  8. I’ve always loved postcards and still have a couple of good friends who send me them, Ann. I can never resist a glance at a postcard stand when I pass one… just in case 🙂 I keep meaning to use my photos to make personalised ones but never get around to it. You know how low tech I am. 🙂 Have a happy week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So kind of you, Jo! Thank you! You know preparing custom postcards are not too difficult, there are simple online sites where you just can choose a design and insert your photo, add text and save it. No special knowledge. Or you can use photoshop, believe me it is not so difficult as it seems, there are online tutorials. I am not an expert, and also learning it, but it is not too scareful. I will help you with pleasure if needed! It is a pretty exciting hobby, you need just time for it! Have a happy day too!

      Like

      1. Thanks, sweetheart! I know of a good site but I just ‘never do have the time’- I sang that last bit, and it’s snowing here, but sunny! Too bizarre! Kind of you to offer- take care 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, you’re so right, Ann. I used to love picking out postcards to send, along with beautiful stamps. I can’t remember the last time I sent one. Yours are lovely, and I’m sure anyone would be delighted to receive one. Good luck with the campaign. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, Shamira, you words are actually the best price for my work, they are priceless, because money cannot replace happiness, and you made me happy! Thank you so much, I am hugging you strongly. Surely, it can be good to sell my postcards, but my purpose is just to create something beautiful that can make people happy. However, I am a realist and know that I am lack of professional level yet, so it is necessary to work a lot! I am lucky to have such sweet friends like you who gave me a huge encouragement and inspiration!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Dear Ann, did you know I’m from Philadelphia where the first postcard comes from?
    Well, thanks to your historical information, I can now understand where my postcard collector’s
    fever comes from! The postcard’s hometown is my hometown. I was born in the
    postcard city! I guess postcards are in my genes! xxoo much love to you my friend thanks for your enlightening pics and the stories that go with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did not know it, Susana, wow, now I know where you love to postcards originates! I am happy I can share with you something interesting! Hugs and best wishes to you!

      Like

  11. How interesting to read about the history of postcards! You’ve taught me something today, Ann. Your own postcards are lovely and the wording/quotes on them just beautiful.(Lovely handwriting, too! I love to see handwritten things – as many people of my generation. We spent a long time when we were at school learning to form our letters correctly.)
    As you say, postcards are a quick and easy – and personal – way of sending messages. Typed ones done on a computer simply don’t compare. Thank you for such a wonderful post. It’s brought many memories back to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad to hear I can bring some sweet memories for you. I feel also nostalgia and would like to bring postcards a new life, perhaps it sounds like mission impossible, I believe sometimes I want too much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

