Earth Surprises Us in Orchids

Earth really surprises us in orchids, am I right? Orchids are one of the most beautiful and unusual flowers. Just look at their peculiar shape and structure. At the top of a very long body you can find such lovely, smiling heads that are looking at you and say “hello” to you! They are charming…Orchids will always make us look, make us smile and remind us of the pure awesomeness of nature. I was lucky this week to visit a small exhibition of orchids at one of our Botanical Gardens. In the middle of winter I happened to be in an exotic place with a temperature above twenty and a high humidity (orchids like), which means that I could turn the calendar and found myself at summer! I also have orchids at home and I do know that growing them takes a lot of time and patience. They are so capricious like girls. Don’t you think so, my sweet girls? It seems that my post today will be more interesting to my female audience, since flowers are our best friends (yeah, I paraphrased a bit). And maybe because tomorrow will be St. Valentine’s Day, which is a special day when many women can get many, many flowers and boxes of chocolates. Although, my ladies, don’t you think that we deserve to get flowers not only once a year, but every day. Would you like to hear a confession? I DO NOT like this holiday. You may call me unromantic and cynic, but I cannot agree with the idea that love should be celebrated only once in a year, which means that we are in love only this day and what about the next one? You woke up next day and find no flowers, no breakfast in bed, and your dear gentleman snores loudly? That’s all, romance is over, time to go to kitchen and make breakfast…don’t you recognize the picture? I bet!

White Orchids

Anyway, it’s up to you to celebrate or not! I would not like to spoil your romantic mood. I just share with you my thoughts. Let’s get back to orchids. I was wondering what does their name mean? Don’t you know? Aw…As I found out orchid literary means “testicles” because of the shape of its root. Can you believe it? Ladies, do you know what testicles are…oh, somebody is blushing now. If you don’t know, check in the dictionary and you will understand why I am smiling now! Definitely, I choose the right topic for today’s post. From my pictures we cannot see their root, so let’s believe it’s the truth!

Once I look at the orchids and I see some similarity with a human face. Am I a freak? To some extend yet, but let us look closer! It’s not only my observations.  An orchid has bilateral symmetry — like a human face — so if a line is drawn vertically down the middle of the flower, the two halves are mirror images of each other.

Red Orchids

When someone looks at an orchid, it looks back at you, just like at this moment! Hello to you, babes! By the way, are there any men yet? Haloo. If you do not know yet how to surprise the lady of your heart tomorrow, think about orchids. It can be a great present, trust me. Choose nice color and make your lady happy. And she can make you happy too…later…you know what I mean! And you might prepare a lovely compliment for your lady and compare her beauty with a bewitched flower!

Yellow Orchids

You know, I do like experimenting and changing the formats of my posts. Thus, I would like to interrupt our sweet talk about orchids for some minutes and change the subject. Recently, I have been nominated for Creative Blogger Award by Laura Lecce from my colorful view of the world and I would like to thank her for that honor. Honestly, I am very thankful for any mentioning of my blog and your comments, and I cannot leave it without any reply. Though I prefer breaking all possible rules, at least, here. Don’t worry, fellows, my nominations are always for all of you, if I start counting it will take too much time. According to the rules I should mention 5 unknown facts about myself. Oh my, I thought I would not find so many. You have already  found out a lot about me and how can I be a mysterious lady for you after that. I will loose my charm and anonymity! That’s why I decided to ask you, what do you what to know? In case, there are any interesting questions, please feel free and ask me in your comments. But be sensible, I will answer only intriguing questions! Joking! Thank you, dear Laura, for this award! You are a wonderful friend!

Violet Orchids

Oh, and again lovely orchids. They are so different and so captivating. I know there are people who like them so much that they even talk to them. However, I guess it is not bad to talk to flowers, since they are alive creatures. We should greet them and touch their leaves, which can help us to understand whether they feel good themselves or not, whether their atmosphere is appropriate for them or not, whether it is enough warm or not. Orchids need a lot of attention and care. But when they are blooming, they look gorgeous. I think they know about it!

Spotty Orchids

Dear Ladies, if you do not have an orchid at one of your windowsills, then you have to give a hint to your loved one. These flowers are born to beguile woman’s eyes. They should be in your flower garden and you should admire them every day! Put aside your vacuum cleaner or frying pans, and take a comfortable position next to your computer screen! Welcome ORCHIDS!

Dark Orange Orchids

Have a love weekend! And not only one weekend, but each of the following!

Yours Ann

 

 

57 thoughts on “Earth Surprises Us in Orchids

  1. I love orchids. I have 2 pots in my windowsill. They brought me so much joy, especially when they bloom. Last year, they bloomed beautiful flowers and they lasted for 6 months. I was in awe. Lovely post, Ann. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend. We are experiencing a frigid weather at the moment and more snow coming in a few days. I thank and appreciate you stopping by and leaving comments on my posts. Best wishes to you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Anna, it’s so nice to hear from you! You get a nice experience with orchids, well-done! They are so beautiful and so inspiring! Oh, yeah, you have a tricky weather. Here is the same, two days ago there was a lot of snow, now it melted and it rains a bit! I am always happy to visit your blog! Wish you sweet weekend! Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure, Ann. Thank you as well for visiting my blog often. It’s much appreciated. I am not sure if you celebrate Valentine’s day in your country. I hope you had a a beautiful, sweet and fun Valentine’s day if you do. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, Anna! Well, I usually do not celebrate Valentine’s Day, but in my country people do celebrate, however, it became mostly a business-like holiday, because flowers and other presents are sold very good! Thank you so much for your wishes, have a lovely week and many creative ideas!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Trisha, it’s so pity that you were not so lucky with orchids! Our first orchid was a present on my birthday, later we bought several others. Now every year it blooms at my birthday, which is in February! Wish you also great weekend!

      Like

  2. How perfect Ann that you should mention me in a post on orchids. I used to have a collection of about 100 back in Sydney, and I miss them dearly. My favourite was Oncidium ‘Sharry Baby’ or chocolate orchid. It’s called that because the scent of the flowers smells very strongly like chocolate. It is perhaps the perfect Valentines flower.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am smiling now and happy you liked my post, surely, I cannot leave you kind attitude towards me without a small surprise! And see, I was lucky to find nice flowers, which you like so much, Laura! Your comment made me feel so awesome! Thank you, my dear Friend! Big hugs and best wishes for weekend! Stay in touch!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Ann! What a wonderful post! 🙂 A little summer island in winter! I already feel the warm atmosphere! It is a very nice program to visiting such places. Just jumping out from everyday life and have such a break, entertaining! Also again we learn new thing, the origin of the Orchids, what I can never expect! 🙂 Beautiful photos you made, congratulations! 🙂
    And now the question: You already showed us many nice places. What is your favourite one, what you would like to visit?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, such a sweet comment, hugging you strongly, my amazing Friend! Thank you for the question. I guess my favourite place anywhere next to sea and mountains, where I can explore many beautiful spots and make video. Honestly, I haven’t seen many places yet, so I guess I would like to travel to many unknown places for me!

      Like

    1. Thank you, dear Carole! Exactly, sometimes I feel that this holiday is good mostly for business. When you are in love, you should not wait and bring happiness every day! Hugs to you and nice day!

      Like

  4. I have a love/hate relationship with them, Ann. 🙂 Sometimes I find the variegated ones quite ugly but that hot pink and the pure white I love! I do have one on the windowsill but not flowering right now. It’s an elderly lady 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo's Shelf Life

    Such gorgeous photos! You have a very fun style of writing, too: usually I wouldn’t make it through a post of this length, but you had me hooked! Thanks for making me smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ann, For whatever reason, I cannot keep orchids alive in my house. I think it is too dry, especially in winter. But they are quite beautiful. Much prettier than testicles! But that’s just a woman’s point of view. A man might think differently? Clare

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

