Titmouse is Neither a Tit, Nor a Mouse…But Rather a Tiny Bird

Titmouse

Hello, my sweet Friends! How are you doing today? What are your plans for Sunday? I guess you know what to do…I can picture that some of you are spending time at the kitchen to prepare food for the next week, while others try to clean out theirs houses…or your idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance. A bright person can always think of something better to do than housework and all of us are bright personalties, ain’t I right? And here comes Ann with her Sunday post devoted to titmouse…How do you find them? Don’t they look hungry?

Hungry Titmouse .jpg

By the way, winter is in full swing and many countries are under thick layer of snow now, so let us not forget to share our food with our little brothers, they are depended on us when the ground is hidden.

Titmouse Thinking

Titmouse is neither a tit, nor a mouse…The word titmouse descends from the Old English terms, tit (any small animal or object) and mase (small bird), essentially meaning one small, small bird.  Perhaps titmice are overlooked because they aren’t as flashy as so many other everyday avians. For instance, like this handsome woodpecker…

Woodpecker

Ukrainian titmice are typically slate yellow or blue above with lighter underparts. They have a blue hat on their heads and yellow coat, however, their fur and tail are a mixture of various colors. Elegant enough, but clearly not enough to put the bird on the map, but not for me! They are very intelligent and behave noble, almost like kings. I would guess that the titmouse enjoys more relative anonymity than other  birds because it is a birder’s bird! They will wait in a queue…

Titmouse and Hungry Sparrow

Not only are they sociable with other birds, but they hardly mind the presence of people. However, they need people and their help. Once I was walking through park and saw them – they were hungry and, surely, I did have food for them, I do not know how they knew it, but they came to me and asked to share food, they were sitting on my arms and in my hands…they landed on my palms and took seeds…they were not afraid of me! Although I should confess that I feed them almost every day, so it might be that they know me already. I walk and look for them, and when I see I put seeds and nuts everywhere, even where there are no feeders. Titmice have excellent eyesight, they see small black seeds on a big distance, I checked it. Sometimes when they are still afraid of me and do not dare to take a seed from my hand, I throw them seeds and they catch them at once. Fantastic!

Titmouse Looks At You

If you pay even the slightest attention anytime you’re in proximity to forest or feeder, you’re bound to hear the buzzy call or “peter, peter” song of a titmouse. I adore their songs, they are so melodic. They can make different sounds and I heard several variants. All of the songs mean different things. Some of the alert, some of them “thank you”. No, I am not kidding, they do know how to thank me, and I admire them for that!

Thank You Titmouse

Sweet little titmice are very useful to our gardens, they like chasing after different harmful worms that can destroy our fruit harvest, thus take care after titmice and welcome them to your gardens, you will not regret, trust me!

And now some interesting facts about their personal life from Net and my observations: sometimes, young titmice stay with their parents to help them take care of the next brood; the male feeds the female titmouse from the time they start building the nest until the time the eggs hatch, during which both parents look after their young; titmice mate for life once they have chosen their partner; sometimes, an older offspring stays with them along with other young birds to help them raise the coming years brood; titmouse is a very lively bird that is not shy to interact with human beings. Scientists claim that these birds are so curious about everything around them that they tend to react to human voices and noise just to find out what these are. They, for instance, travel in trees from their nests to the source of the noise whether this from humans talking or noise from street workers, drillers, or farmers. These birds are also known to be so intelligent that they are able to easily enter the most complicated feeder and find food there easily. Some minutes spent with them can make you feel very alive and happy! Do not forget to bring seeds or nuts next time you  go out…and prepare feeders with your children, in such a way you will have great fun and help titmice to survive during colder season! Remember they are our little Brothers…Food for Titmice

Take care! And if you need any additional information on them or their favorite food, do not hesitate to ask me!

Yours Ann

71 thoughts on “Titmouse is Neither a Tit, Nor a Mouse…But Rather a Tiny Bird

  1. They are gorgeous, Ann :). They were sitting on your arms? Wow! So cool!
    This is so cute, the big brother take care of little brother 🙂
    Ann, I have noticed that they are in Ukraine’s colors, blue and yellow 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, dear Monica, they were siting in my hands! But that moment I was not able to capture, since it takes only several seconds, but it happened and not only once! You are so attentive, yes, they are real patriots, so wear only national colors! Hugs to you! Thank you a lot!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. It turns out I have SO much more to say that I had to make a whole new blog post (which I will pingback as soon as I finish and post it)!

    In the meantime, accept my admiration (and writerly envy) for this phrase in your post which made me snort with laughter: “or your idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance.”

    Brilliant! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was the purpose to made you laugh, dear Jim! I confess I borrowed this phrases from one of wisdom person, really do not remember his name, but he said it so right! I also enjoyed it so much that I felt I need to use it in my post! Thank you for admiration, it means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And also this bit: “… the male feeds the female titmouse from the time they start building the nest until the time the eggs hatch, during which both parents look after their young.”

    What if in a story a wife calls her husband a “silly little tit mouse!”

    That would be a wry compliment, right?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: AnRo World – Birds – The Daily Driver

  5. What a lovely post you’ve written, Ann! 🙂 We feed the tits (and others 🙂 ) in our garden but I wouldn’t think to do it outdoors. However, you’ve reminded me of an elderly friend in Bristol. He takes his dog for a walk in the fields each morning and always carries titbits for the birds. I love this about him 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a lovely post, and what beautiful titmice you have. We have them, too, but we have a different species, and they are very plain: gray, with just a bit of black. They’re just smaller than a cardinal, but they are very friendly, and sing beautifully.

    It’s so nice to see other species, and your photos are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Friend! Yes, it is true, there different species and I also saw them here, but mostly such ones! I suppose they are in blue and yellow, since it is our National flag! They are patriots!

      Like

  7. You care about the birds that’s so sweet! I saw one house sparrow too… Titmouse are beautiful birds. My brother used to blog about photography & philosophy and he also put up his thoughts about the birds there. I loved reading your posts since it reminds me of my brother and home… Beautiful post dear! Thanks and keep caring for the birds ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shamira, I am hugging you for such sweet and wonderful words! I feel some positive energy from you, thank you so much! I do feel special after your compliments! Yes, capturing birds is a tough task, but I like challenges, because I know that you are waiting for some good shots. I know they are not perfect, but I am learning yet! Take care and have a lovely weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ann! You are a bird lover like me! The titmouse at my house is greyish and white, but tiny and sweet and thoughtful like yours! “Peter, Peter!” and “Thank you!” — what kind songs! I wish we could birdwatch together someday…what a nature dream!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

