My Christmas Present for You

Dear Fellows, I cudgeled my brains over a present  I would like to put under your Christmas tree. It took some of my time. I wanted to prepare really something special and unusual. I guess I have already mentioned that photography is not my only one crazy passion, I have the other one as well – I am fond of film-making. I bring my video camera with me whenever I can and film everything I see. Thus, I decided to make up a video story for you about days before and after Christmas in two big cities, Lviv and Kyiv. If you know my blog, then you read several posts devoted to these nice and unpredictable cities. They are quite different, one is the center of Western Ukraine, while the other is the center of Northern and Central parts. However, both of them mean a lot to me. I prefer thinking of them as of my two residences…as in ancient times lords and dukes always have two residences: winter and summer. I am no worse than them, ain’t I right? Indeed. I love these cities and cherish them. One is my birthplace, where I spent my childhood and students years, the other is my soul place, where I find my muse and inspiration. Two places, two short stories mixed with Christmas decorations, over a cup of coffee or tea with black or white chocolate, somewhere in mysterious coffee mine and magical tunnels, sang at opera house and listened to beautiful music, under Christmas tree and with magical wishes in our hearts…

Please make a wish and St. Anna, whose name day is celebrated today in Ukraine, will make it true!!! Merry Forthcoming Christmas!!! Here we go…

Yours Ann

P.S. I would much appreciate your opinion on my film! Thank you in advance!

53 thoughts on “My Christmas Present for You

  1. It is a wonderful film Ann, and really shows the Christmas spirit in Lviv and Kyiv 🙂 Thank you for sharing this with all your fellow wordpress bloggers 🙂
    And I hope that you and your family also have a wonderful Christmas, and a very Happy New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so grateful to you for these warm and kind words, they make my soul sing! I am so glad to know you liked my film, I did it with big love to my country and to you, my dear Friends! You feel that Christmas is looming and hope you have already caught that magical wave of forthcoming wonder…Hugs! Merry forthcoming Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Ann, its really a good job which took me to a wonderful journey on the eve of Christmas in your country. The musics are very melodious like Indian ones especially the last one.
    Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year to you and your family. May all of your wishes and dreams come true, and may you feel this happiness all year round.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Anil, so happy to hear you liked my Christmas story and so nice to know that music is similar to yours. I like when different nations can find something similar and can share it. It’s fantastic! Thank you so much for your wishes! Merry Christmas to you and your family, wish you great holiday season full of love and joy. Enjoy every moment and take care! Hope wonders will visit your home…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, Ann! It is beautiful. A movi(e)ng present. At minute 3.31 there is a cake with chocolate. I want a big slice, please! 🙂 I want to eat it under the big Christmas tree that you have in the movie, because I want to feel the Christmas spirit in Ukraine 🙂
    Meeeeerrrryyy Christmas to you too, Ann 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I invite you to come and promise you this big piece of cake under my tree, dear Monica! You are so sweet, I am smiling now! Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrry Christmas to you too, dear! Take care and enjoy this moment! I am very touched with your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Nameday, my sweet Ann! 🙂
    You have a special Day and you are presenting us! Thank you very much! Really a wonderful video, which brings us Christmas and warm feeling! Merry Christmas for everybody! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Radość i szczęście, zdrowie i pomyślność, to najserdeczniejsze życzenia, jakie można złożyć. Takie też właśnie przesyłam. A do tego, wiele, wiele ciepła każdego dnia, rodzinnej rodzinnej atmosfery na co dzień i ciągłej obecności bliskich. To dzięki nim czujemy się dobrze i bezpiecznie, niech więc Cię to nigdy nie opuszcza. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Dziękuję za te wspaniałe i ciepłe życzenia! Иardzo zgadzam, rodziny i bliskich przyjaciół – to się liczy! Życzę Bożego Narodzenia w szczęśliwym rodzinnym gronie! Niech niokly rodzina światło nie gaśnie. Dziękuję bardzo! Powodzenia!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Carole, I am so happy that you enjoyed my film, this is my purpose to show you my cities and listen to wonderful opera music! I really liked that concert and especially the last song, I had tears in my eyes, it’s very touching song! Happy holidays and great time with family! Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your video is excellent, Ann, and you give us such an fascinating and varied view of the two cities, Christmas shopping and other preparations seem to be much the same the world over, and the section in the kitchens was a nice addition. Christmas is always partly about food! The music and singing at the concert was superb. Your filming skills are wonderful and the presentation of the film, with the changing music and turning pages, was great. And what a lovely Christmassy ending at the Christmas market!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great comment, I am so happy and feel so high, you liked my film and you recognized all the details, you are very attentive, thank you really very much! I am quite amateurish in filming, however, it’s so exciting to make up a video story, it gives our life additional meaning because moment has gone and video capture stayed…

      Like

      1. Oh, Maria, what a great compliment, hope I do deserve it! I am sure you can also make fantastic films, your photos are so professional and so artistic always, I enjoy them every time. It can be good to cooperate with you and create something common, your scenes are breathtaking and I always wanted to get to know hoarse world closer! Happy forthcoming New 2016! I believe your inspiring photos and personality can make this world for the better!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. My huge pleasure, dear Daphne! I am so grateful for your lovely compliments, they meant a lot for me! This is my best reward, thank you! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too, may this new 2016 year will bring you many pleasant surprises and huge good luck! Hugs!

      Like

    1. You are so sweet, dear Jo, your lovely words are the best Christmas present for me, because I do like filming, but more I like to see happy people after watching them! You made me feel so wonderful! Happy 2016 year for you too, may it bring lots of excellent and unforgeable moments! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m new to your blog and this is one of the first posts I’ve read. Thank you very much for such a lovely, thoughtful present. I’m in awe of how you created this film. So many interesting features within it. I wish we lived near each other so I could learn how to this, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it can be very nice to live closer and you can also show me your very beautiful country about which I heard so much! However, we should always hope and dream, in our 21st century more and more opportunities occur, so maybe one day! You made my day with you lovely comment! Loads of thanks and hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A delightful film! It is now the middle of January but you have snapped me right back into the excitement of anticipating Christmas. I only wish the film could convey the sense of smell because my mouth was watering during the scenes of the candy and coffee shops and I bet they smelled glorious!!

    Also there was something about the scene with the little girl on the carousel that struck me. I don’t know what it was exactly, but usually when I’m struck like that it ends up becoming a story. So, stay tuned (as they say)!

    Thank you, Ann for sharing your talent and your cities!

    (Jim makes a note to himself to redouble his efforts towards designing that trans-Atlantic swim suit!) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are great, thank you for your sweet words! Yes, smell of coffee was delightful, we bought several packages with is and we were like coffeemaniacs, addicted to its smell, it’s intoxicating!Maybe next time I will send you a parcel with this delicious coffee and chocolate, because chocolate is exceptionally good. So, yes, you have to redouble your efforts on that trans-Atlantic swim suit, you miss so much fun here! By the way, this is not my only film presented here…
      Oh, i am so glad that you felt inspired, I look forward to reading your story, you are a very talented writer, I wanted to ask you whether you have published some of your stories?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would absolutely love a parcel of coffee and chocolate!! I will email you my postal address immediately! 🙂

        Yes, I see that you have other films and I plan to watch them all (it just might take me some time to get to them)! One of the problems I find with not having the power to bring time to a standstill is that I often find I do not enough of it to do all the things I want to, when I want to do them! But don’t worry, I have a list of things to do and see and your films and posts are on that list. (And near the top because of your delightfully sweet comments!)

        I hope the story comes to fruition and that you enjoy it. I have a beginning already but then I have thousands of story beginnings in the files on my computer. Thousands. Beginnings are the easy part! The hard part is the rest.

        And thank you for your kind comments about my writing. Sometimes I feel like I’m just stumbling along, typing. I’m very glad you the words that result and consider me talented. And yes, I have had just a few short things published. If you want to read them, there are links across the top of my blog page, next to the “About” link. The titles are Patterns, Cakes, Gordon, Loon Lake, Purple Silhouettes, and Sugar. I put them on what WordPress calls “Pages” rather than in blog posts thinking it would be better to have them always be available on the home page but I have noticed that they don’t get much traffic (like almost none), so I’ve been considering changing them to regular blog posts. Though the thought of them slowly slipping away over time into “Archive” makes me sad! They are like my babies and I want everyone to see their cute, smiling faces!

        And while those are just a few I’ve been lucky enough to get published, I have many, many, many more waiting for the right home. I’d love to share some of them with you, but I’m hesitant to post any of the most publishable ones because most journals and publications will only accept previously “unpublished” work and nearly all of them consider a post on a public bog to be “published.” I suppose I could increase the scope of the trans-Atlantic swim suit design project to include some watertight filing cabinet type arrangement in which I could seal them up! Or I suppose I could just e-mail them to you! 🙂

        Well, dear Ann, this comment has become excessively long and I’m afraid to take up too much of your time and over stay my welcome! I will end by saying I hope you have a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you again soon.
        Jim

        Like

      2. Thank you so much, dear Jim! I am so glad to know more about you, I was right you are a very interesting person and it’s so good to know you have your stories published, surely will be more. I will check them for sure. I also experience the lack of time, but I will email you as I promised, be sure, and then you can tell me more about your stories, I am very curious! I am quite a modest writer compared to you, but I am happy if you like my posts, this is the best reward for me! You too have a nice day and take care!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It’s not your writing skills but you that’s modest! And I believe that’s the best way to be– reasonably self-deprecating rather than arrogant! I hope you enjoy the stories and that the rest of your day is peaceful.

        I tend to think of you. way out there to the East of me, as a marker setting the tone for the day as the earth spins and brings the dawn to my small portion of it. In other words, if you’re having a good day, that good feeling spreads west and the rest of us (not just me) enjoy the benefits of it!

        Okay, sometimes I wax a bit overly poetic. You will have to excuse me for that!!
        Jim

        PS: I came home from work and found that this reply (which I had thought I had sent this morning) was still pending! I’m so sorry! But you’ll see it in the morning!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Dear Jim, you are fantastic! I love you being poetic, it does sound so pleasant, inspiring and simple wonderful. Such a lovely present in the morning, I feel so warm! There is some innocent sincerity in your beautifully made comparisons that brings joy to my soul! Thank you so much for making my morning special! Have a wonderful day, although I am not sure whether it is a day for you or night, we shall have a big time difference!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. If I can provide some warmth, I feel I’ve done a good deed (especially with all that snow you have)! And I’m very glad to make your morning special. It’s nice to have kind words from a friend to start the day! By-the-way, morning for me is afternoon for you. You are 7 hours ahead of me! In the vanguard! Boldly blazing a trail through each new day!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

