In the Rustle of Leaves

October Colors

 One Sunday morning when the sun shone less brightly, and the leaves of the trees, have already changed color for fall, swayed in the gentle breeze, I decided to have a walk with my photo jack-of-all-trades. And that’s what came out of it…

Sunny Leaves

Autumn is the brightest season, when the leaves change color from green to queer. Autumn comes and everything turns to be ‘pumpkin-spiced’.  The kind of silence where you can hear the rustle of leaves and the forest creak in the wind is nice. The kind of silence where you hear nothing. That is the perfect moment of harmony with nature. You dissolve in it fully.  Autumn is also a very positive time, am I right? Or not? Some of you who disagree is a person who prefers being blind. A question then arises – what exactly do you see if your eyes are closed? I suppose it is quite dangerous to stroll through the streets in that way. I highly recommend you to open your beautiful deep-set eyes and look at this world. You actually may observe a colorful boom. So many bizarre undertones can be seen only at Fall. There is no count of them. All we have to do is admire, capture and keep them in our minds. This season offers an extremely rich color palette. Artists should just watch and imbibe: colors, sounds and smells.

Yellow-and-Blue

Can it really be only me who believes that autumn is more striking than spring. Indeed, first never been touched sprouts and buds cannot compete with yellow and stale leaves. Similar association occurs when you see a young girl and a mature woman. Moreover, a mature woman is like a fine wine, aged to perfection. The same happens with autumn leaves.

Stand as if rooted to the ground

In the rustle of autumn leaves I have more thoughts in my head then I could even hope to contend with. I need to let them come out. Exactly at that moment I find my notebook and comfortable chair, and start typing. At this instant I do not care what people think of me, whether anybody will like what I write and how I do it… I am alone with my thoughts. I give rein to them as I cannot keep them inside the dark closets of my soul. Here they come, watch out! I am steaming like a kettle. The sound is almost similar to autumn sonata about something painful. One of such painful topic is kindness…yes, yes, usual immense kindness. We come across it every day, when we see how people donate their last money to save somebody’s life (a person whom they have never seen before). Or when an old lady, who hardly moves, knits stockings for young soldiers. And when a young girl – volunteer cooks soup and bakes sweet buns to feed a young soldier who defends his Motherland with the Kalashnikov gun is his hands. After several days she finds him in a hospital and stays next to him. A girl who is a stranger to him becomes his hope for happiness. But there is no end of Ukrainian wonders. This young girl marries this soldier…ceremony is very touching…the groom is in invalid chair…and at such minutes a true belief in humane kindness revives…good wins over evil and not only in movies. Love wins over pain, love brings new life. Cynics and pessimists become optimists and dreamers for whom life begins again…

Again I hear the known rustle of leaves while holding my camera tightly…I press the button… click…new colorful flash!

Fall of Leaves

Wish you kind and colorful weekend!

Yours Ann

24 thoughts on “In the Rustle of Leaves

  1. I love spring because it heralds the awakening of life and the summer days to come. But autumn has the better clothes, in shades from yellow to orange to red, so I love autumn too. Next week I am heading out with my camera to capture some of its loveliness.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. I will switch to my other blog – magicspello.wordpress.com is devoted entirely to Spello, Italy. Everything else I post is on indifferentreflections.wordpress.com.

        Enjoy the rest of your weekend too. Hope it is pleasant in Ukraine.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I truly enjoyed this post (and the previous one), not just for your stunning photography, but for your thoughts. Autumns seems to bring out the thinker in those who “see.” Thanks for sharing what was inside your head, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Kim, I feel very happy now, your comment is very touching and rewarding. I am really glad that you liked my autumn thoughts! I hope I deserve your compliments. I cannot regard myself as a good photographer, but I enjoy capturing the moments! Thank you and all the best!

      Like

  3. Pairing pictures with words is a great experience. You do it in a very pleasing way. In our country (Panama) we don’t have the four seasons. Only dry and wet season, albeit it’s green al year round, which at the end of the day is a good thing.

    Enjoy those magnificent colors and the warmth of life. Carpe Diem!

    God Bless,

    Omar.-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omar, you definitely have your own benefits and enjoy them! However, I was born in a country with four seasons and got used to it too much. Honestly it is too strange for me to stay in always-green country, nice and exotic, but still strange. I adore to observe change of seasons and nature moods. I like snow at winter and nature sleep. I adore Spring when nature wakes up and summer when it is warm. It is my natural atmosphere, I am like fish in water! Thank you for leaving a kind comment! Happy to hear you! God bless you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

