Fruity-Tutti That Are Healthy and Bright

Cherry Lady

It is believed that every man should build a house, plant a tree and father a son. I may assume that the same can be said about a woman as well. Do not you agree? Planting a tree is a lifelong investment. We do not only make our planet greener, but also produce more oxygen, and it’s vital for everyone. We had an occasion to plant a cherry tree in my granny’s garden and now this summer tree pleased us with its first fruits. You can see the first picture! You cannot even imagine how happy we were to see it and taste it. You have no idea how sweet it was…was, because we have eaten it already. Yeah, I know it’s not good that I did not share it with you, bad girl!

You might recognize that I like gathering information almost about everything I make a picture of, so I could not resist the temptation to get to know more about this particular fruit. Did you know that the word ‘cherry’ comes from the Turkish town of Cerasus. Cherries are not only very beautiful and bright fruit, however, very healthy as well. As I read red cherries contain melatonin which helps to fight against harmful toxins. These fruits also contain a high level of antioxidants which are beneficial to the human body. They also ensure the proper functioning of the body and help the immune system get stronger. Right now I understand why I like it so much, I confess I am a fan of sweet cherries, I can eat a half of kilo at once, they are very delicious. 

Fruit Piece

How do you like my fruit piece that I captured specially for you? Any comments? Does it look nice? Well, my 
little apples are without a make-up, but trust me they are tasteful!

I live in a capital city and coming to the countryside gives me always a positive feedback. You can simply change the atmosphere to which you get used and discover something new, unknown for you. I know that life in the countryside is not so entertaining as well, since people should work hard in order to get good harvest. There are benefits and drawbacks of both lifestyles. A nice balance is possible if you are able to combine both, guess. So, when I have time I should escape from my lovely, but very noisy city, and grasp some fresh countryside air as well as taste juicy fruits. 

Raspberries

However, before putting these delicious and colorful fruits to my mouth, I have to pick them up. I adore raspberries, they are very sweet, but gathering them is not so funny. Raspberries are grown in bushes , so when you gather them you have to dive into the forest of bushes where a lot of ants waiting to bite you. Or you may be “lucky” to meet some other, not too pretty, animals that usually live in these bushes. Anyway, everybody likes raspberries, but not everybody likes gathering them. Can you share your experience?

Nevertheless, let us enjoy raspberries and find out more about them.

Raspberries have been enjoyed by man since the times of cavemen. This berry is unique and fascinating, and has even worked its way into our popular culture. The word “raspberry” seems to come from the Old French raspise, a term meaning “sweet rose-colored wine”.

Raspberries are sold and produced throughout the world, which has given rise to myths about why raspberries are red and even one myth about the magical qualities of the fruit. a modern myth tells the story of how raspberries turned a fox’s fur red.  In the Tale of the Raspberry Fox, by Henning Buchhagen, there is a fox named Ferdinand.  At that time, all foxes were grey in colour.  The tale tells how Ferdinand didn’t like to eat meat, so one day he decided to eat some raspberries and discovered that he loved eating them.  He kept eating raspberries and the more he ate, the redder his fur became.  Ever since then, all foxes have had red fur and like to eat fruit.

Delicious raspberries are low in calories and fats. Raspberries are a wonderful source of vitamin C, containing 40 percent of a person’s daily needs. Raspberry contains anti-oxidant vitamins like vitamin A, and vitamin E. 

I adore raspberry jam which is prepared in a very easy way. You just should add sugar to raspberries and bend it together, then put to small glass bowls and leave in a fridge. It is very yammi! I spread it on roll and eat it with milk or tea. Ohh, you should try it!!! Highly recommend!

Apricot

And then I found apricots. who do not like apricots? Many of my colleagues who are much older than me (age of my granny) usually confess that apricots are their favourite fruits, they can eat them till their tummies will be big like a balloon. 

The apricot, discovered about 4,000 years ago in China, was introduced to the United States in the 18th century. Greek mythology experts believe apricots are the “golden apples” of Hesperides — the fruit Hercules was ordered to pick in the eleventh of his twelve labors. In Latin, apricot means “precious”. Indeed, my colleagues consider this fruit exactly precious, they are crazy about it. Maybe because they know that it was long considered an aphrodisiac, huh, ladies…do you remember A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and apricot was used as an inducer of childbirth as depicted in John Webster’s The Duchess of Malfi. Right now I see it very clearly. Ladies like apricots!!!

Moreover, apricots are regarded as a healthy source of Vitamins A and C. Vitamin A promotes eye and skin health, while Vitamin C helps boost the immune system. Apricots are also rich in beta-carotene and don’t contain any cholesterol or sodium. 

Dreaming of apricots, in English folklore, is said to be good luck. Wish you sweet apricot dreams this night!

Pear

I have no right to forget about pears, even if it is not their period yet. They are mostly green now, but when their time comes….hum….we cannot resist not to eat juicy pears as soon as we pick them from a tree. And here I should again boast about planting a pear tree, which is ready to produce its first babies. 

Chinese people believe that sharing of pear may disturb relationship between friends or lovers. Pears are a symbol of immortality in China. Well, I do not live in China, but I can feel they are pretty right about it. 

Pears were important part of diet in ancient Greece and remedy for nausea. Greek poet Homer described pears as “gifts of the gods”. 

Have you ever smoked pears? Nope…well, then you are a looser….kidding…pear leaves were used for the preparation of cigarettes, before tobacco became popular. So, my dear fans of unhealthy cigarettes – maybe it’s time you gave up smoking “who knows what” and start smoking healthy pear leaves…

Pears contain anti-oxidants, dietary fiber, vitamins and minerals. Eating pears helps maintain a healthy immune system. Pears help treat hypertension. I can see only benefits and you? How do you like pears?

Blackberries

Finally, I cannot finish my story without currants, a Queen among healthy fruits. This fruit is not so sweet as previously mentioned, but very healthy. 

Being a rich source of several antioxidant minerals, regular intake of raw red currant fruit helps in the detoxification of your body as well as in the elimination of the free radicals produced as a result of biochemical reactions in the body. Red currants as a great food to add to your skin care diet. Red currant helps control blood pressure by regulating the circulatory system, and thereby reduces the risk of heart attack and other coronary disorders.

Black currants have extraordinarily high vitamin C content, good DV levels of dietary fiber, potassium, phosphorus, iron, and vitamin B5; and a broad range of other essential nutrient. If you catch a cold in winter, there is nothing better than a tea with black currant, it helps to fight with high temperature and microbes. I tested it on myself. So, I always prepare a package of black currant and leave it frozen in my freezer. And you?

Have a nice weekend!

Your Doctor Ann

11 thoughts on “Fruity-Tutti That Are Healthy and Bright

  1. Your pic are far too mouthwatering to be seen on an empty stomach !!! And the first one is simply amazing, you made me soooo homesick (minus the heat wave the poor Frenchies are experiencing !). Hey, you did not say if you smoke the peach leaf ??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my dear Friend, you are so amazing always make me happy with your compliments! I should confess that I did not try to smoke pear leaf, but It’s very tempting idea! I will share experience if I dare…Yeah, I heard about your hot weather, my boyfriend was on a conference in Fontainebleau last week and he hardly was able to breath…Now it is coming to the part of Europe where we live as well! I am very glad to know you liked my pics, thank you soooooooo much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, he liked it very very much, he said that one day I have to visit it for sure because it’s very nice place, just this time he had no time and energy to walk a lot under such incredibly hot sun! You are so lucky to grow in such a beautiful place!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You must visit in Spring or Fall! I ll be eagerly waiting for your pic 🙂 I realized I was lucky after a few humanitarian missions actually … Have a beautiful week end and thx again for the awesome berries salad 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

